Yoga For Virgo Sun or Rising Signs

Sun Sign Birth Dates for Virgo: Aug 23–Sep 22

Is Virgo your Rising Sign? Your rising sign, also called your ascendant, is the sign that was rising over the eastern horizon when you were born, and is the sign in your 1st House. If you know what time you were born, you can calculate your Rising sign.


Virgo is the stickler for detail. Someone with a Sun or rising sign in Virgo is organised, a true problem solver and tends to trust their head more than their heart.


What to play up:

  • Loyalty
  • Rational thinking
  • Considerateness
  • Conscientiousness
  • Practicality

What to watch out for:

  • Shyness
  • Worry
  • Overly critical of self and others


Your Element, Dosha and Guna

Earth is your element.

Earth signs are likely to be predominantly Kapha in nature.

When there is too much Kapha nature in someone, it results in excess lethargy and can lead to feeling dull and heavy, as well as the physical manifestations of congestion.

Because of this, it’s recommended to keep your yoga asana practise regular and incorporate a more rigorous flow. Incorporate powerful standing poses, creating heat in your body to counter your natural tendency to feel cold and sluggish.

You could also try incorporating Bhastrika (Bellows Breath), which helps to remove excess congestion in the lungs, create warmth and energise the mind.

The Guna associated with Mutable signs is Sattva. Sattva can be symbolised by a newborn baby; the state of balance and equanimity. Sattva goes with the flow; accepting and working with change as it is.

Although Sattva is likely the Guna you want to cultivate most, too much can lead someone to be too ‘spacey’, disconnecting from reality or unable to be motivated to do something. That is why all three Gunas work together; some grounding and stability from Tamas makes Sattva more stable, and a little fire from Rajas makes Sattva dynamic.

Because of this, it’s recommended to keep your yoga asana practise varied to maintain your stable balance of all three Gunas and keep Sattva in check. Full-bodied practises, incorporating dynamic asana, pranayama and quiet periods of meditation is best.


Your Ruling Planet

Mercury is your ruling planet.

He/she (Mercury is seen as gender neutral) is commonly identified with the Greek Hermes, the fleet-footed messenger of the gods. Mercury is all about communication, moving quickly through the sky.

Because of Mercury’s ability to communicate, Virgos often make successful careers as writers and journalists, as well as the more analytical, details-oriented roles such as statisticians, analysts and so on.


Body Part Focus

The abdomen is most associated with Virgo.

This includes the stomach, small intestine, gall bladder and spleen. Virgo is also the co-ruler (along with Gemini) of the nervous system.

It might be worth focussing on asanas that help with digestion and core activation.


An Affirmation For Your Practise

“I let go of that which does not serve my purpose.”


Yoga Asanas For Your Sign


1) Boat Pose (Paripurna Navasana)

Begin seated, knees bent, feet flat on floor. Lean back slightly and lift your feet, bringing your shins parallel to the floor. Balance on your sit bones, keeping your spine straight. Hands can support legs under thighs.

Start to straighten your legs and bring your arms to the side. Use your core strength to create stability. Keep your collar bones open and lifted.

Expressions of this pose:

Low boat – bring legs lower and lean back more.


Keep your knees bent. Keep arms supporting legs.

Boat pose

2) Cobra pose (Bhujangasana)

Lay on belly, hands face down under shoulders. The tops of your feet should rest on the mat, pressing firmly through them.  Inhale, lift your head and heart forward and upward, keeping length through your spine. Use your hands as support – try not to push too much into them. Exhale, slowly lower your chest and forehead to the mat.

Expressions of this pose:

Try lifting your palms off the floor.


Practise against a wall, belly and palms against it. As you press against the wall, draw your shoulder blades firmly into your upper back and broaden across your collar bones.

Cobra pose

3) Revolved Side Angle Pose (Parivrtta Parsvakonasana)

Inhale, step feet 3–4 feet apart. Turn right foot out 90 degrees, left foot out 60 degrees. Left hand to outside of right foot, taking right arm up. Gaze to sky, draw belly in and create length, keep legs strong.

Expressions of this pose:

Bring right arm around back, or bind by taking left arm under right leg, holding right hand.


Come into from low lunge (knee on floor) and arms in prayer. Use of block. Modify neck position.

Revolved side angle

4) Head-to-knee Pose (Janu Sirsasana)

From staff pose, place right foot to inner thigh. Inhale, create length through the spine, extend arms up. Exhale, fold forward taking extended foot or clasp wrist around foot. Inhale, create length as you wave the spine forward, exhale to draw head to toes. Lift elbows, draw shoulders back and down.

Expressions of this pose:

Revolved – Take the arm on side of bent leg up and over your head, turning your chest to face upwards, lengthening through the side body.


Rolled up blanket in bent knee if you have issues with deep knee flexion.

Head-to-Knee Pose

5) Half lord of the fishes (Ardha Matsyendrasana)

From easy pose, bring right leg in with knee pointing forward, take left leg over right knee, sole of foot to floor. Inhale lengthen through spine. Exhale hooking right elbow over left leg, left arm stabilises behind your back. Twist from base of spine, let head turn last to look behind you.

Expressions of this pose:

Thread right arm under left knee, reaching around your back and take hand with left hand.


Use a strap to connect arms if taking bind. Extend bottom leg if hips are tight.

Half Lord of the Fishes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *