Yoga For Taurus Sun or Rising Signs

Sun Sign Birth Dates for Taurus: April 20–May 20

Is Taurus your Rising Sign? Your rising sign, also called your ascendant, is the sign that was rising over the eastern horizon when you were born, and is the sign in your 1st House. If you know what time you were born, you can calculate your Rising sign.


Taurus is the bull, loyal, stable and grounded. Someone with a Sun or rising sign in Taurus moves slowly but surely, adore their earthly pleasures and on a bad day, can be a bit too stubborn in their steadfastness.


What to play up:

  • Loyalty
  • Peacefulness
  • Patience
  • Practical
  • Abundance

What to watch out for:

  • Jealousy
  • Materialistic
  • Lazy


Your Element, Dosha and Guna

Earth is your element.

Earth signs are likely to be predominantly Kapha in nature.

When there is too much Kapha nature in someone, it results in excess lethargy and can lead to feeling dull and heavy, as well as the physical manifestations of congestion.

Because of this, it’s recommended to keep your yoga asana practise regular and incorporate a more rigorous flow. Incorporate powerful standing poses, creating heat in your body to counter your natural tendency to feel cold and sluggish.

You could also try incorporating Bhastrika (Bellows Breath), which helps to remove excess congestion in the lungs, create warmth and energise the mind.

The Guna associated with Fixed signs is Tamas. Tamas can be symbolised by a tall mountain; strong and steady. Having too much Tamas can lead to laziness, apathy, depression, and a general heavy or ‘stuck’ feeling.

Try to practice more vinyasa and sun salutation-type sequences, as well as incorporating backbends and balancing poses. These are great for increasing energy and invigorating the body.


Your Ruling Planet

Venus is your ruling planet.

If we look back at Ancient Roman history, Venus was seen as the God of Love. She is all about passion, pleasure, variety and intensely loves.

When Venusian energy is used skilfully, we are loving, experience abundance and enjoying all of our sensory experiences. When we’re not doing so well under Venus, we can be jealous, self-indulgent and vain.

Venus is described as a ‘benefic’ planet – which means she is supportive and constructive in the areas of life she touches.


Body Part Focus

The Neck and Throat area is the body part most affected with Taurus. Also affected are the spine and thyroid glands/

Yoga Asanas that focus on opening the throat and create alignment through the spine and crown are recommended.


An Affirmation For Your Practise

“I receive abundance into my life”


Yoga Asanas For Your Sign


1) Cat Cow 

Start on your hands and knees with your wrists directly under your shoulders, and your knees directly under your hips. Ground down through your feet and hands – particularly your fingertips and knuckles. Keep your head in a neutral position and soften your gaze downward.

Inhale into Cow pose – bring your chest forward, dropping your belly down, gazing toward the ceiling. Exhale into Cat pose – curling your tailbone down, arching up through your back like a cat, gazing toward your belly button.

Inhale, coming back into Cow Pose, and then exhale as you return to Cat Pose.

Expressions of this pose:

Try a ‘Drunken Cat’ – circling your hips, as you move through this sequence. Take care to pay attention to your neck and spine.


Bring hands to fists to take pressure off wrists.

Cat Cow

2) Triangle Pose (Trikonasana)

Inhale step feet 3-4 feet apart. Turn right foot out 90 degrees, left out 45. Keep feet in one plane. Exhale, shift hips to the left whilst extending over the right leg, lowering hand to shin, ankle or foot. Keep spine long and parallel to ground. Gaze toward thumb. Keep legs active, breathe into hamstrings and sides.

Expressions of this pose:

Take a twist in Twisted Triangle, bringing opposite hand to the outside of the front leg.

Alternatively, take Eagle or Cowface arms.


Block under hand, bend front knee.

Triangle pose

3) Bridge pose (Setu Bandha Sarvangasana)

Lay on back, arms at your side. Ground through feet (hips width apart and reach hips up to ceiling. Interlace fingers behind back. Lift chest to and chin to ceiling. Keep knees drawing inwards.

Expressions of this pose:

Place palms on lower back with fingers around waist, resting on elbows for a deeper backbend. Or place a block under sacrum for a restorative version. Or lift heels and reach on leg to the sky for one-legged bridge.


Place a block under sacrum.

Bridge pose

4) Half Lord of the Fishes (Ardha Matsyendrasana)

From easy pose, bring right leg in with knee pointing forward, take left leg over right knee, sole of foot to floor. Inhale lengthen through spine. Exhale hooking right elbow over left leg, left arm stabilises behind your back. Twist from base of spine, let head turn last to look behind you.

Expressions of this pose:

Thread right arm under left knee, reaching around your back and take hand with left hand.


Use a strap to connect arms if taking bind. Extend bottom leg if hips are tight.

Half Lord of the Fishes

5) Plough pose (Halasana)

Lie on your back on a mat. Lift both legs up the ceiling, placing your hands to your low back. Lift your hips and legs higher so you’re balancing on your shoulders and back of the neck. Keeping your core tight, your legs pulled together and start to lower your legs behind your head to the floor.

Expressions of this pose:

If your toes touch the floor, release your hands from your lower back and clasp them together on the mat.


Bring feet to a chair behind you.

Plough pose

Note for Taurus: Too little energy in this chakra can manifest as neck pain, difficulty in speaking and other neck and throat problems. Too much energy in this chakra can cause hearing problems and hasty, excessive speech. Plough pose brings you the opportunity to balance your fifth chakra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *