Yoga For Sagittarius Sun or Rising Signs

Sun Sign Birth Dates for Sagittarius: Nov 22–Dec 21

Is Sagittarius your Rising Sign? Your rising sign, also called your ascendant, is the sign that was rising over the eastern horizon when you were born, and is the sign in your 1st House. If you know what time you were born, you can calculate your Rising sign.


Sagittarius is the adventurer of the zodiac signs. Someone with a Sun or rising sign in Sagittarius has an open mind and philosophical outlook, and love to wander around the world in search of the meaning of life.


What to play up:

  • Generosity
  • Humour
  • Adventurous nature
  • Enthusiasm
  • Honesty

What to watch out for:

  • Impatience
  • Tactlessness
  • Over-promising


Your Element, Dosha and Guna

Fire is your element.

Fire signs are likely to be predominantly Pitta in nature.

When there is too much Pitta nature in someone, it results in excess heat and can lead to physical discomfort, as well as frustration and aggressiveness.

Because of this, it’s recommended to keep your yoga asana practise fairly gentle, or to include grounding Yin flows to achieve more balance. Loving Kindness (metta) meditations are also very helpful for daily practise, or whenever you notice yourself feeling ‘fired up.’

The Guna associated with Mutable signs is Sattva. Sattva can be symbolised by a newborn baby; the state of balance and equanimity. Sattva goes with the flow; accepting and working with change as it is.

Although Sattva is likely the Guna you want to cultivate most, too much can lead someone to be too ‘spacey’, disconnecting from reality or unable to be motivated to do something. That is why all three Gunas work together; some grounding and stability from Tamas makes Sattva more stable, and a little fire from Rajas makes Sattva dynamic.

Keep your yoga asana practise varied to maintain your stable balance of all three Gunas and keep Sattva in check. Full-bodied practises, incorporating dynamic asana, pranayama and quiet periods of meditation is best.


Your Ruling Planet

Jupiter is your ruling planet.

The largest planet in our solar system, Jupiter is all about expansion, abundance and emphasising all aspects it comes across. It is our teacher (also known as Guru in Vedic Astrology) helping us to learn, grow and expand our system of beliefs that define our reality.


Body Part Focus

The hips are most associated with Sag. Also affected are the sciatic nerve, thighs and buttocks.


An Affirmation For Your Practise

“I explore and expand.”


Yoga Asanas For Your Sign


1) Warrior I (Virabhadrasana I)

From downward dog, lunge right foot forward between hands. Spin back foot down, inhale swim arms up and gaze toward thumbs. Lower so that front leg is at a 90 degree angle, knee over ankle and second toe. Hips square to front, feet hips-width distance. Inhale to lift through spine, exhale to mild backbend. Keep both legs strong and ground through back edge of foot.

Expressions of this pose:

Take Aeroplane, Eagle or Cowface arms


Arms down for stability, front leg less bent

Warrior 1 pose

2) Wild Thing

Starting in Downward dog, bring your weight into your right hand and roll onto the outer edge of your right foot, as though coming to side plank. Turn your body to face the sky as your left foot steps over the right, raising your left hand to the sky and keeping your hips shining upwards.

Expressions of this pose:

Not so much an expression, but a follow-on could be Upward Bow (Wheel) Pose


Gate pose is a nice alternative that keeps one knee on the floor but also starts to improve your stability.

Wild Thing

3) Lizard pose

Begin in Downward-Facing Dog. Exhale, step your right foot forward to the outside edge of your right hand. Hands and right foot are lined up. Make sure the right knee isn’t moving past the right ankle. Sink your weight down into your hips, keeping the weight distributed evenly across both hips.

Expressions of this pose:

Curl your left toes under and press up into the ball of the left foot. Actively lift the inner left thigh and press the left heel back while reaching the chest forward. Bring forearms down to the ground, hands flat in front of you.


Keep arms straight and chest and chin lifted.

Lizard pose

4) Half Pigeon Pose (Eka Pada Rajakapotasana)

Come to table top pose. Bring your left knee to touch your left wrist and inch your left foot forward until it’s just in front of your right hip. Slide your right leg toward the back of your mat and lower both hips toward the floor. Walk your arms forward, pressing your hands firmly into the floor as if pushing away the ground.

Expressions of this pose:

Come further forward, bring head to the mat. Alternatively, stay up and bend the right knee, taking the foot towards you with your right hand.


Bring a rolled blanket or a block under the left hip to help balance the hips.

Half Pigeon Pose

5) Happy Baby Pose (Ananda Balasana)

Begin by laying flat on your back. Bend the knees into the belly, taking the outside of each foot with the corresponding hand. Open your knees slightly wider than your torso and bring them up towards your armpits. Stack each ankle directly over the knee so that the shins are perpendicular to the floor. With gentle movements, push your feet up into your hands and pull down with your hands to create resistance. Flex your feet. Lengthen your spine as you bring your thighs into your torso and towards the floor.

Expressions of pose: 

Hamstring stretch: take left leg up and behind left arm, hold left foot with right arm


If you find it difficult to grip your feet, try looping a belt or yoga strap over each sole and holding on to the ends of it.

Happy Baby Pose

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *