Yoga For Libra Sun or Rising Signs

Sun Sign Birth Dates for Libra: Sep 23–Oct 22

Is Libra your Rising Sign? Your rising sign, also called your ascendant, is the sign that was rising over the eastern horizon when you were born, and is the sign in your 1st House. If you know what time you were born, you can calculate your Rising sign.


Libra is the people pleaser with uncanny intuition when it comes to the motivations and potential of others. Someone with a Sun or rising sign in Libra is charming, communicative and easy-going.


What to play up:

  • Creativity
  • Sociability
  • Diplomacy
  • Intuition
  • Loyalty

What to watch out for:

  • Being detached
  • Superficiality
  • Indecision


Your Element, Dosha and Guna

Air is your element.

Air signs are likely to be predominantly Vata in nature, but Aquarius is Tridhatu.

This describes those of us whose natural constitution is an even combination of all three Doshas. Tridoshic or Tridhatu त्रिधातु, means ‘threefold.’

Because of this, it’s recommended to keep your yoga asana practise varied to maintain your stable balance of all three doshas. Full-bodied practises, incorporating dynamic asana, pranayama and quiet periods of meditation is best.

Your Guna is Rajas, associated with Cardinal signs. The nature of Rajas can be symbolised by an erupting volcano; it is attraction, longing, and attachment. When in excess, Rajas can be a source of anxiety, over-thinking, and hyperactivity.

Practicing at least one restorative pose every day will be very effective at reducing Rajas. It’s also worth holding poses for longer and minimise or slow down vinyasa and sun salutation-type sequences.


Your Ruling Planet

Venus is your ruling planet.

If we look back at Ancient Roman history, Venus was seen as the God of Love. She is all about passion, pleasure, variety and intensely loves.

When Venusian energy is used skilfully, we are loving, experience abundance and enjoying all of our sensory experiences. When we’re not doing so well under Venus, we can be jealous, self-indulgent and vain.

Venus is described as a ‘benefic’ planet – which means she is supportive and constructive in the areas of life she touches.


Body Part Focus

The lower back, including the kidneys, is most associated with Libra.

This is a part of the body that is often a place of discomfort for people who are new to yoga or come to yoga for physically restorative purposes. It is also the location of the first three chakras, which is something to consider focussing on in your yoga practise.


An Affirmation For Your Practise

“I let go of that which does not serve my purpose.”


Yoga Asanas For Your Sign


1) Downward-Facing Dog (Adho Mukha Svanasana)

Come to all fours, hands and knees. Set your knees directly below your hips and your hands slightly forward of your shoulders. Spread your fingers wide, index fingers facing forward, and turn your toes under.

Ground firmly through your hands and toes as you bend your knees slightly, lifting your tailbone straight up. Work toward straightening your legs, but prioritise ease and length through the spine.

Expressions of this pose:

Lift one hand and take it to the opposite leg into a twist, look under shoulder.


Keep knees bent, add blanket under heels.

Downward facing dog

2) Locust pose (Salabhasana)

Lay on belly, hands face down beside face. Lift chest, legs and hands off the floor. Draw tailbone and pubic bone together to engage core. Extend through crown and feet.

Expressions of this pose:

Arms facing down and back along side of body. Or hands together behind back, fingers interlaced.


Alternate raising arms and legs.

Locust pose

3) Standing Forward fold (Uttanasana)

Inhale circling arms up, exhale hollowing belly and hinging from hips to fold forward. Lengthen through spine, drawing crown to floor, hands toward feet. Engage quadriceps.

Expressions of this pose:

Ragdoll – hold elbows and let arms hang, Half forward fold – lengthen spine and draw head forward, come onto fingertips or slide hands up shins/thighs.


Bend knees so belly reaches thighs with ease, block under hands.

Standing Forward Fold

4) Bridge pose (Setu Bandha Sarvangasana)

Lay on back, arms at your side. Ground through feet (hips width apart and reach hips up to ceiling. Interlace fingers behind back. Lift chest to and chin to ceiling. Keep knees drawing inwards.

Expressions of this pose:

Place palms on lower back with fingers around waist, resting on elbows for a deeper backbend. Or place a block under sacrum for a restorative version. Or lift heels and reach on leg to the sky for one-legged bridge.


Place a block under sacrum.

Bridge pose

5) Half lord of the fishes (Ardha Matsyendrasana)

From easy pose, bring right leg in with knee pointing forward, take left leg over right knee, sole of foot to floor. Inhale lengthen through spine. Exhale hooking right elbow over left leg, left arm stabilises behind your back. Twist from base of spine, let head turn last to look behind you.

Expressions of this pose:

Thread right arm under left knee, reaching around your back and take hand with left hand.


Use a strap to connect arms if taking bind. Extend bottom leg if hips are tight.

Half Lord of the Fishes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *