Yoga For Capricorn Sun or Rising Signs

Sun Sign Birth Dates for Capricorn: Dec 22–Jan 20

Is Capricorn your Rising Sign? Your rising sign, also called your ascendant, is the sign that was rising over the eastern horizon when you were born, and is the sign in your 1st House. If you know what time you were born, you can calculate your Rising sign.


Capricorn is signified by the mountain goat: committed, hard-working and steadfast. Someone with a Sun or rising sign in Capricorn has an incredible work-ethic, are ambitious and go-getters.


What to play up:

  • Determination
  • Ambition
  • Diligence
  • Reliability
  • Patience

What to watch out for:

  • Selifish
  • Cold
  • Boring


Your Element, Dosha and Guna

Earth is your element.

Earth signs are usually Kapha, but Saturn is actually Vata in nature.

When there is too much Vata nature in someone, it results in excess nervousness energy, anxiety, panic and fear. Physically, you may feel dry, weak and cold.

Because of this, it’s recommended to keep your yoga asana practise regular and incorporate a calm, stretch-focused form of yoga, such as Yin. Sun Salutations should be done at a slow pace. It is also balancing to include twists, forward bends, and calming inversions. Due to the hyperactive nature of Vata, make sure to allow for a longer Savasana, for fifteen minutes or more.

You could also try incorporating Alternate Nostril breathing, which helps to calm and focus the mind.

Your Guna is Rajas, associated with Cardinal signs. The nature of Rajas can be symbolised by an erupting volcano; it is attraction, longing, and attachment. When in excess, Rajas can be a source of anxiety, over-thinking, and hyperactivity.

Practicing at least one restorative pose every day will be very effective at reducing Rajas. It’s also worth holding poses for longer and minimise or slow down vinyasa and sun salutation-type sequences.


Your Ruling Planet

Saturn is your ruling planet.

The farthest visible planet in our solar system, Saturn is all about boundaries. If you try to take short-cuts in life, you may get into trouble later on. But if you do your work sincerely, then you will be rewarded. Saturn never gives you more than you can handle.


Body Part Focus

The knees are most associated with Capricorn. Also affected is the skeleton; all bones.


An Affirmation For Your Practise

“I am committed and content.”


Yoga Asanas For Your Sign


1) Hero Pose

Kneel on the floor with your thighs and knees together. Slide your feet apart, slightly wider than your hips, with the tops of the feet flat on the floor. Bring your thumbs into the backs of your knees and draw the skin and flesh of the calf muscles toward the heels. Then sit down between your feet.

Expressions of this pose:

Interlace fingers bringing arms up overhead.


Half hero pose, one leg out in front. Sitz bones can also be on a block.

Hero pose

2) Mountain Pose (Tadasana)

Stand with feet together or hips-width/two fists apart. Lift toes, spread them out, place back down. Lift through the arches and up through the knees and thighs. Internally rotate thighs. Soften tailbone down to lengthen back. Shine chest to sky whilst pulling ribs in line with hips. Bring back of head in line with back of heels. Drop chin slightly, lengthen through crown to sky. Ground down whilst lifting up.

Expressions of this pose:

Hands to heart in prayer, raise arms and stretch from side to side, arm swings.


Could be done partly on a chair.

Mountain pose

3) Chair pose (Utkatasana)

Stand with toes together, slight gap between heels inhale bending knees and lifting arms up by ears. Draw tailbone down and back, keep spine long and neutral. Exhale to sink deeper as if going to sit in a chair. Knees should stay behind toes.

Expressions of this pose:

Take Eagle arms, try with feet hips-width distance apart, add a twist with arms at prayer, elbow reaches to opposite thigh.


Block between thighs, hands at heart centre.

Chair pose

4) Warrior II

Inhale step feet 3-4 feet apart. Turn right foot out 90 degrees, left out 45. Keep feet in one plane. Lift arms up and out to the sides on a horizontal plane, wrists over ankles. Bend right knee to 90 degrees, keep back leg strong and straight, ground through back edge of left leg. Gaze past right fingertips.

Expressions of this pose:

Take Eagle, or Cowface arms.


Bring feet closer, less bend in front leg.

Warrior II

5) Tree Pose (Vrkshasana)

Lift right foot, place on inside of left thigh. Ground through standing foot. Press sole of foot and thigh together. Hands in prayer at heart centre.

Expressions of pose: 

Reach arms up, take a mudra.


Keep toes on ground, or foot to calf – don’t bring to knee.

Tree pose

Note for Sagittarius: In Tree pose, imagine you are growing roots down from your feet into the earth. Feel solid, stable and supported. Raise your arms like branches of a tree, receiving energy and inspiration from the Sun.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *