Yoga For Aries Sun or Rising Signs

Sun Sign Birth Dates for Aries: March 21–April 19

Is Aries your Rising Sign? Your rising sign, also called your ascendant, is the sign that was rising over the eastern horizon when you were born, and is the sign in your 1st House. If you know what time you were born, you can calculate your Rising sign.


Aries begins the Zodiac, and is all about starting things off with a bang. Someone with a Sun or rising sign in Aries exhibits courage, energy and charisma. They make great leaders, and are often first in line to explore the new.

What to play up:

  • Courage
  • Independence
  • Initiative
  • Charm
  • Leadership

What to watch out for:

  • Competitiveness
  • Egoism
  • Impulsiveness


Your Element, Dosha and Guna

Fire is your element.

Fire signs are likely to be predominantly Pitta in nature.

When there is too much Pitta nature in someone, it results in excess heat and can lead to physical discomfort, as well as frustration and aggressiveness.

Because of this, it’s recommended to keep your yoga asana practise fairly gentle, or to include grounding Yin flows to achieve more balance. Loving Kindness (metta) meditations are also very helpful for daily practise, or whenever you notice yourself feeling ‘fired up.’

Your Guna is Rajas, associated with Cardinal signs. The nature of Rajas can be symbolised by an erupting volcano; it is attraction, longing, and attachment. When in excess, Rajas can be a source of anxiety, over-thinking, and hyperactivity.

Practicing at least one restorative pose every day will be very effective at reducing Rajas. It’s also worth holding poses for longer and minimise or slow down vinyasa and sun salutation-type sequences.


Your Ruling Planet

Mars is your ruling planet.

If we look back at Ancient Roman history, Mars was seen as the God of War. Mars is fiery and impulsive, and this energy needs to be channelled somewhere. Whilst Venus rules our romantic nature, Mars is most associated with our more primal sex drive.

When Mars energy is used skilfully, we are assertive, focussed and adventurous. When we’re not doing so well under Mars, we can be impatient, hasty and aggressive.

Mars is described as a ‘malefic’ planet – but that doesn’t mean it’s bad news. We can use Mars energy to help us make decisions, move forward and overcome obstacles.


Body Part Focus

The Head is the body part most affected with Aries. Also affected are the face, brain, blood, muscles and adrenal glands.

Yoga Asanas that focus on the head and increasing healthy blood flow are recommended.


An Affirmation For Your Practise

“My body is relaxed and at peace”


Yoga Asanas For Your Sign


1) Standing forward fold (Uttanasana)

Inhale circling arms up, exhale hollowing belly and hinging from hips to fold forward. Lengthen through spine, drawing crown to floor, hands toward feet. Engage quadriceps.

Expressions of this pose:

Ragdoll – hold elbows and let arms hang.

Half forward fold – lengthen spine and draw head forward, come onto fingertips or slide hands up shins/thighs


Bend knees so belly reaches thighs with ease, block under hands

standing forward fold

2) Warrior I (Virabhadrasana I)

From downward dog, lunge right foot forward between hands. Spin back foot down, inhale swim arms up and gaze toward thumbs. Lower so that front leg is at a 90 degree angle, knee over ankle and second toe. Hips square to front, feet hips-width distance. Inhale to lift through spine, exhale to mild backbend. Keep both legs strong and ground through back edge of foot.

Expressions of this pose:

Take Aeroplane, Eagle or Cowface arms


Arms down for stability, front leg less bent

Warrior 1 pose

3) Wide-Legged Forward Fold (Prasarita Padottanasana)

Inhale step feet 3–4 feet apart, toes slightly in. Exhale, bring hands to waist. Inhale, lift chest. Exhale, hinge from hips, lengthening through spine. Place hands on floor, inline with toes. Inhale, lift gaze forward and create length. Exhale, fold forward, aiming to get crown to floor.Draw elbows towards each other, press through outer edges of feet, bring weight forward to create length through spine.

Expressions of this pose:

Hands behind back, index finger and thumb to grip big toes, hands on waist, twists


Bend knees slightly if hamstrings tight, bring hands forward or onto blocks

Wide-Legged Standing Forward Fold

3) Supported Headstand (Salamba Sirsasana)

Interlace fingers and cup the hands, placing the crown of the head to the mat and supporting it with the cupped hands. Walk feet towards head until hips are stacked over shoulder, and begin to bring the legs up. Ground firmly through the elbows, lifting shoulders away from ears to create length, squeeze legs together.

Expressions of this pose:

Tripod headstand


Legs up wall pose – sit next to wall with hips close to wall surface. Lie down, sliding your legs up the wall.

Supported headstand

4) Head-to-Knee Pose (Janu Sirsasana)

From staff pose, place right foot to inner thigh. Inhale, create length through the spine, extend arms up. Exhale, fold forward taking extended foot or clasp wrist around foot. Inhale, create length as you wave the spine forward, exhale to draw head to toes. Lift elbows, draw shoulders back and down.


Rolled up blanket in bent knee if you have issues with deep knee flexion

Head-to-Knee Pose

5) Corpse Pose (Savasana)

Lay flat on your back, legs apart, arms at your side. Relax fully.

Note for Aries: This pose is important to close any practise, especially for Aries signs. If you find your mind racing, eager to get on with the next ‘thing’, then taking an extended rest in Savasana is invaluable for you. Take some time to just be.

Corpse pose

One thought on “Yoga For Aries Sun or Rising Signs

  1. […] I mentioned, the full Moon will be moving through a certain part of the sky, a Zodiac sign (like Ari...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *