Yoga For Aquarius Sun or Rising Signs

Sun Sign Birth Dates for Aquarius: Jan 21–Feb 18

Is Aquarius your Rising Sign? Your rising sign, also called your ascendant, is the sign that was rising over the eastern horizon when you were born, and is the sign in your 1st House. If you know what time you were born, you can calculate your Rising sign.

Aquarians are the revolutionaries, the visionaries and someone with a Sun or rising sign in Aquarius is likely to come across as cool, forward thinking and very direct.

What to play up:

  • Fairness
  • Affectionate
  • Imagination
  • Truthfulness
  • Forward thinking

What to watch out for:

  • Overly frank
  • Unpredictability
  • Detachment

Your Element, Dosha and Guna

Air is your element.

Air signs are likely to be predominantly Vata in nature, but Aquarius is Tridhatu.

This describes those of us whose natural constitution is an even combination of all three Doshas. Tridoshic or Tridhatu त्रिधातु, means ‘threefold.’

Because of this, it’s recommended to keep your yoga asana practise varied to maintain your stable balance of all three doshas. Full-bodied practises, incorporating dynamic asana, pranayama and quiet periods of meditation is best.

The Guna associated with Fixed signs is Tamas. Tamas can be symbolised by a tall mountain; strong and steady. Having too much Tamas can lead to laziness, apathy, depression, and a general heavy or ‘stuck’ feeling.

Try to practice more vinyasa and sun salutation-type sequences, as well as incorporating backbends and balancing poses. These are great for increasing energy and invigorating the body.

Your Ruling Planet

Uranus and Saturn are your ruling planets. Lucky you – you get two!

Saturn is the ruling planet from ancient times, before more modern equipment identified Uranus. As the farthest visible planet in our solar system, Saturn is all about boundaries. If you try to take short-cuts in life, you may get into trouble later on. But if you do your work sincerely, then you will be rewarded. Saturn never gives you more than you can handle.

Uranus is quite a counterbalance for Saturn: it’s the radical genius, the lover of freedom. Uranus is all about surprise, flashes of insight (it rules electricity) and overhauling the old to make way for the new.

Body Part Focus

The ankles are most associated with Aquarius, as well as the lower leg.

An Affirmation For Your Practise

“I love and accept myself fully.”

Yoga Asanas For Your Sign

1) Lotus Pose

Seated, cross right foot to left thigh, left foot to right thigh, externally rotate hips. Bring hands to knees. Lengthen through crown, ground down through sitz bones.

Expressions of this pose:

Fold forward, take hands behind in prayer or interlace fingers.


Sit on blanket to raise hips above knees.

Lotus Pose

2) Garland pose (Malasana)

Lower into a squat with your knees tracking your toes outward. Inhale lengthen up through your crown. Exhale, lean your torso forward and fit it snugly between your thighs. Expand your elbows into your inner knees, bringing your palms to together in Anjali Mudra and draw the knees into the elbows.

Expressions of this pose:

Take a twist, placing one hand on the floor in front of you, and one hand toward the sky. Gaze toward raised hand. Repeat on the other side.


Keep heels lifted if necessary. Place a rolled up blanket under heels if they are far from the ground.

Garland pose

3) Eagle pose (Garudasana)

Spread toes and firm down through all four corners of feet. Bend left knee and wrap right leg around standing leg, placing toes behind shin or as far as possible. Extend arms out wrapping left arm under right. Lift shoulders and press palms together. Sink hips down.

Expressions of this pose:

Take a forward fold, keeping length in your spine.


Touch toes to floor.

Eagle Pose

4) Revolved Side-Angle Pose

Inhale, step feet 3–4 feet apart. Turn right foot out 90 degrees, left foot out 60 degrees. Left hand to outside of right foot, taking right arm up. Gaze to sky, draw belly in and create length, keep legs strong.

Expressions of this pose:

Bring right arm around back, or bind by taking left arm under right leg, holding right hand.


Come into from low lunge (knee on floor) and arms in prayer. Use of block. Modify neck position.

Revolved Side Angle

5) Child’s Pose (Balasana)

Resting pose. Kneeling, sit hips back to heels, rest forehead to mat, arms by sides, palms up.

Expressions of pose: 

Extended: knees wide, toes in, arms extended in front (active or passive arms).


Block or blanket under the head.

Note for Aquarius: This is a wonderful resting pose. If you feel like you’re taking the weight of the world on your shoulders, it might be worth spending 5 or more minutes resting in this pose. Unlike savasana, it won’t leave you ready for bed: it is both restful and invigorating, restoring your energy so you can keep on keeping on.

P.S. You can also find a class for Aquarius Season on my YouTube channel:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *