Yoga For Pisces Sun or Rising Signs

Sun Sign Birth Dates for Pisces: Feb 19–Mar 20

Is Pisces your Rising Sign? Your rising sign, also called your ascendant, is the sign that was rising over the eastern horizon when you were born, and is the sign in your 1st House. If you know what time you were born, you can calculate your Rising sign.


Pisces is the final sign of the zodiac, and takes us right into the realm of the spiritual; our higher self and the world of dreams and imagination. Someone with a Sun or rising sign in Pisces is likely to come across as artistic, intuitive and sensitive.


What to play up:

  • Compassion
  • Creativity
  • Intuition
  • Wisdom
  • Kindness

What to watch out for:

  • Overly fearful
  • Overly trusting
  • Acting the martyr


Your Element, Dosha and Guna

Water is your element.

Water signs are likely to be predominantly Kapha in nature.

When there is too much Kapha nature in someone, it results in excess lethargy and can lead to feeling dull and heavy, as well as the physical manifestations of congestion.

Because of this, it’s recommended to keep your yoga asana practise regular and incorporate a more rigorous flow. Incorporate powerful standing poses, creating heat in your body to counter your natural tendency to feel cold and sluggish.

You could also try incorporating Bhastrika (Bellows Breath), which helps to remove excess congestion in the lungs, create warmth and energise the mind.

The Guna associated with Mutable signs is Sattva. Sattva can be symbolised by a newborn baby; the state of balance and equanimity. Sattva goes with the flow; accepting and working with change as it is.

Although Sattva is likely the Guna you want to cultivate most, too much can lead someone to be too ‘spacey’, disconnecting from reality or unable to be motivated to do something. That is why all three Gunas work together; some grounding and stability from Tamas makes Sattva more stable, and a little fire from Rajas makes Sattva dynamic.

Because of this, it’s recommended to keep your yoga asana practise varied to maintain your stable balance of all three Gunas and keep Sattva in check. Full-bodied practises, incorporating dynamic asana, pranayama and quiet periods of meditation is best.


Your Ruling Planet

Neptune is your ruling planets.

Neptune is represented by the lord of the sea – think Triton in The Little Mermaid. It represents the desire to escape the world of the mundane, and encourages us to dream of distant shores. Neptune is also connected to music, so those born under it’s influence are likely to reveal music preferences early in life.


Body Part Focus

The feet are most associated with Aquarius, as well as the lymph system, immune system and the pineal gland.


An Affirmation For Your Practise

“I am living my dream.”


Yoga Asanas For Your Sign


1) Mountain Pose (Tadasana)

Stand with feet together or hips-width/two fists apart. Lift toes, spread them out, place back down. Lift through the arches and up through the knees and thighs. Internally rotate thighs. Soften tailbone down to lengthen back. Shine chest to sky whilst pulling ribs in line with hips. Bring back of head in line with back of heels. Drop chin slightly, lengthen through crown to sky. Ground down whilst lifting up.

Expressions of this pose:

Hands to heart in prayer, raise arms and stretch from side to side, arm swings.


Could be done partly on a chair.

Mountain pose

2) Downward-Facing Dog (Adho Mukha Svanasana)

Come to all fours, hands and knees. Set your knees directly below your hips and your hands slightly forward of your shoulders. Spread your fingers wide, index fingers facing forward, and turn your toes under.

Ground firmly through your hands and toes as you bend your knees slightly, lifting your tailbone straight up. Work toward straightening your legs, but prioritise ease and length through the spine.

Expressions of this pose:

Lift one hand and take it to the opposite leg into a twist, look under shoulder.


Keep knees bent, add blanket under heels.

Downward facing dog

3) Upward Facing Dog

Lie on your belly with the tops of your feet on the floor. Bring your palms to the floor beside your waist and bring your elbows in towards your body. Inhale and straighten your arms, simultaneously lifting your torso up and your legs a few inches off the floor on an inhalation. Keep the thighs firm, the arms strong and turned out so the elbow creases face forward. Ground strongly into the hands and toes/top of foot.


Often it’s difficult to keep the legs strongly suspended above the floor. Before you move into the pose, position a thick blanket roll below your top thighs. When you are in the pose, lightly rest your thighs on this roll as you press the tailbone closer to the roll.

Upward Facing Dog

4) Half-Frog Pose

Lie on your belly. Press your forearms against the floor and lift your head and upper torso. Bend your right knee and bring the heel toward the same-side buttock. Reach back with your right hand and clasp the inside of your foot. Use the base of your palm to press down the top of the foot. Keep shoulder square with the front of the mat and continue to keep your left shoulder lifted.


Support the lift of the upper torso with a bolster under your lower ribs, and press your free forearm on the floor in front of the bolster.

Half-Frog Pose

5) Fish Pose (Matsyasana)

Lie on your back with your knees bent, feet on the floor. Inhale, slide your hands, palms down, below your buttocks, tucking your forearms and elbows in to your sides. Inhale and press your forearms and elbows firmly against the floor then lift your upper torso and head away from the floor. Release your crown back onto the floor. There should be a minimal amount of weight on your head to avoid crunching your neck.

Expressions of pose: 

Raise your legs straight out, up to a foot off the ground.


Perform the pose with your back supported on a thickly rolled blanket. Be sure your head rests comfortably on the floor and your throat is soft.

Fish pose